GNCC Racing

Knight and DuVall in North Carolina

Sunday, March 30, 2008 | 12:00 AM

The FMF Steele Creek GNCC is complete in Morganton, North Carolina. Red Bull KTM's David Knight overcame a horrible start to get the lead and then pull a solid gap on the field, a strong comeback from a third place finish at the last event by the defending Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Champion.

Am-Pro Yamaha's Barry Hawk also bounced back, grabbing second and pushing hard to keep some heat on Knighter throughout the day. The entire FMF/Suzuki factory team came in next, with New Zealand's Paul Whibley ahead of Australia's Josh Strang, and Ohio riders Jimmy Jarrett and Charlie Mullins.

In the XC2 Lites class, Am-Pro Yamaha's Thad DuVall romped home to another win, making him three for three this season. PowerSports GrafX KTM's Kailub Russell took his first career podium with second and Monster Energy/Andrews Yamaha's Dustin Gibson came from behind for third.

FMF Steele Creek GNCC
Morganton, N.C.
March 30, 2008

1. David Knight (KTM) Isle of Man
2. Barry Hawk (Yam) Smithfield, PA
3. Paul Whibley (Suz) New Zealand
4. Josh Strang (Suz) Australia
5.Jimmy Jarrett (Suz) Beloit, OH
6. Charles Mullins (Suz) Hamilton, OH
7. Nathan Kanney (KTM) High Falls, NY
8.Jesse Robinson (Kaw) Connelly's Spring, TN
9. Jason Raines (Yam) Belfair, WA
10. Louwens Mahoney (KTM) South Africa
11. Garrett Edmisten (Kaw) Vero Beach, FL
12. Brian Guenther (KTM) Grove City, PA
13. Gordon Crockard (HSQ) UK
14. Jeff Curry (Hon) Saginaw, MI
15. Russell Bobbitt (KTM) Fayetteville, GA
16. Glenn Kearney (HSQ) Australia
17. Josh McLevy (Yam) Fairfield, CT

1. Thad DuVall (Yam) Williamstown, WV
2. Kailub Russell (KTM) Kingston, OH
3. Dustin Gibson (Yam) Cumberland Furn, TN
4. Justin Williamson (KTM) Sanford, FL
5. Josh Weisenfels (Yam) Fort Smith, AR
6. Wallace Palmer (Kaw) Mullica Hill, NJ
7. Andy Shea (KTM) Oxford, OH
8. Brian Lawson (Yam) Adams, MA
9. Eric Bailey (KTM) King George, VA
10. Ryan Echols (Hon) Fairmont, WV
11. Andrew Matusek (Kaw) Fayetteville, GA
12. Nick Gentry (KTM) Dawsonville, GA
13. Charles Huegel (Yam) Oil City, PA
14. David Snyder (Yam) Navarre, OH
15. Kevin Korn (Kaw) Toledo, OH
16. Tyson Hadsell (Kaw) Hudson, FL
17. John Barber (KTM) Rome, GA
18. Kevin Hoge (Suz) Pittsburgh, PA