GNCC Racing

Obermeyer/MCS Racing Suzuki Team Race Report: The John Penton

Tuesday, May 31, 2016 | 11:40 AM

The Obermeyer/MCS Racing Suzuki Team rolled into the seventh round, located in Millfield Ohio, with high anticipation for the beginning of the second half of the GNCC season.  We were able to finally dodge wet conditions this weekend, but high humidity and temperatures was something to deal with all weekend long.  The green flag waived on time at 1:00pm and all of the Suzuki racers were near the front of the deep field of competition.

Chris Douglas experienced an incident on the first lap that would ultimately end his race day, and that would leave Ricky Russell as the lone Obermeyer/MCS Racing Suzuki Team rider in the XC1 class.  Ricky has been illustrating flashes of speed during the previous six rounds and today was the day he demonstrated consistency as well.  Running the majority of the event in fifth place, Ricky was able to close a 2:13 deficit in the final stages of the race and ended up with a season best finish of fourth.  After the race, Ricky said “his Suzuki RM-Z450 performed great throughout the entire three hour race and is really looking forward to the next race in New York”. 

The Obermeyer/MCS Racing Suzuki Team support riders, Vincent Smith and Duell Murphy competed in the Open A class on RM-Z450’s and respectively finished eighth and twelfth at the end of the day.  Vincent is tied for second in season points and Duell is currently sitting in sixth, both riders are within striking distance of the national championship with some of their favorite tracks remaining on the schedule. 

The next national event for the Obermeyer/MCS Racing Suzuki Team will be held in Odessa New York on June 12th, this will be the eighth round of the thirteen for the GNCC National Championship series. 

XC1 Results:

  1. Kailub Russell                 KTM
  2. Josh Strang                     HSQ
  3. Thaddeus Duvall            HSQ
  4. Ricky Russell                 SUZUKI                     
  5. Steward Baylor Jr.         KTM
  6. Russell Bobbitt              KTM
  7. Cory Buttrick                  KTM
  8. Grant Baylor                  YAM
  9. Jordan Ashburn             KTM
  10. Christopher Bach          HON