GNCC Racing

Kailub Russell Becomes a Three-Time Full Gas Sprint Enduro Champion with Overall Victory at Season Finale

Tuesday, October 20, 2020 | 10:45 AM


Photo: Shan Moore
Photo: Shan Moore

BUFFALO, S.C. – FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Kailub Russell added another accolade to his lifetime achievements over the weekend as he clinched the 2020 Full Gas Sprint Enduro Championship in a close battle to the very end of Sunday’s series finale in South Carolina. The now three-time FGSE Champion holds a special place in series history as the only repeat champion thus far.

Russell came away with a total of six test-wins between the two days but it wasn’t without a fight as he continues to battle through a big knee injury sustained four weeks ago. With a second-consecutive championship on his mind, Russell played the long-game on Saturday with mostly second-place finishes – along with a third and a first – which allowed him to edge out the second-place rider by a mere 0.802 of a second to capture the overall win on day one.

On day two, Russell picked up the pace as he raced his way to five test-wins and one second-place finish, this time besting his competitor by 1.638 seconds on the day. In a race against the timeclock, every bit counted toward the weekend’s overall score and it was Russell who came out ahead by a total of 2.44 seconds after two close days of racing. With a healthy margin in the point standings, Russell’s victory allowed him to wrap up the 2020 series with yet another number one plate.

Russell: “The Full Gas season was very enjoyable with a ton of close racing action all year. I’m happy to have won all but one event and claim the championship.”

Team Manager, Antti Kallonen: “What a season it has been for Kailub and to top it off with a Full Gas Sprint Enduro Championship is fantastic under his current health of his knee. Congratulations to Kailub for achieving yet another championship on his resume.”

Trail Jesters KTM Racing’s Jesse Ansley finished second overall in the Pro 2 class, where he concludes the 2020 season with a runner-up finish in the Pro 2 Championship.

Pro Results
1. Kailub Russell, KTM, 01:37:15.801
2. Layne Michael, Yamaha, +2.44
3. Josh Strang, Kawasaki, +59.709

Pro 2 Results 
1. Lyndon Snodgrass, Kawasaki
2. Jesse Ansley, KTM
3. Ben Nelko, Kawasaki

Pro Championship Standings
1. Russell, 315 points
2. Michael 254
3. Strang, 191
4. Draper, 191

Pro 2 Championship Standings
1. Girroir, 265 points
2. Ansley, 242 points
3. Nelko, 223 points