GNCC Racing

GNCC Recognizes Top Racers and Sponsors at 2017 Awards Banquet

GNCC Recognizes Top Racers and Sponsors at 2017 Awards Banquet

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 | 7:15 PM
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 | 7:15 PM


Chelsea Taylor
[email protected]
(304) 284-0084

GNCC Recognizes Top Racers and Sponsors at 2017 Awards Banquet
99 National Championships Bestowed

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (December 6, 2017) With all 13 race rounds complete on the 2017 circuit, the annual GNCC Night of Champions took place this past weekend, December 1 and 2, with the ultimate celebration to cap off the season. More than 1,360 racers, family members and fans from all over the country came together in Morgantown, West Virginia at the Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place to celebrate the prestigious accomplishments of the top 10 racers in each championship class.

Each evening kicked off with dinner and opening ceremonies. Each championship class was honored on stage, in addition to a handful of specialty awards and recognition of series sponsors and supporters. The best ATV and UTV racers were honored in front of over 700 people on Friday evening, while nearly 670 more attended Saturday evening’s ceremony to honor the top motorcycle racers in the series. For a full list of 2017 GNCC champions please click HERE.

2017 Specialty Award Winners
ATV Winners Bike Winners
Rider of the Year – Walker Fowler Rider of the Year – Kailub Russell
4x4 Rider of the Year – Kevin Cunningham Amateur Rider of the Year – Alex Teagarden
Amateur Rider of the Year – Drew Landers Youth Rider of the Year – Zack Davidson
Youth Rider of the Year – Layne McCormick Bike Manufacturers Cup – KTM North America
Bad Ass Award – Jeremy LeDonne State Championship – Pennsylvania
Sport Ambassador – Mike Penland In Memoriam – Chris and Cody Gragg, Albert Amatuzio, Steve Crowe,
Craig Petzold, Dale “Cookie” Cooke, Devin Langford,
Matthew “Loupie” Lambruno, Elizabeth “Lib” Hawkins,
Donna Rae Penton  
Manufacturers Cup – Yamaha Motor Corp.
Most Improved - Kevin Trantham
State Championship – Pennsylvania
Sponsor of the Year – CST Tires  
In Memoriam – Ethan Fittro, Joe McCune, Gae Tretinik,
Ronnie Byrd

Rocky Mountain ATV/MC returned with their Ticket to Ride program for the fifth year. Four lucky winners received a paid trip-for-two to Moab, Utah for a riding excursion with the Rocky Mountain ATV/MC staff to take place this upcoming spring. Congratulations to Friday night’s winner’s 4x4 A champion Dwight Pollard from Clayton, Georgia, and WXC rider Alicia McCormick from Muncy, Pennsylvania, who will be provided with Side-by-Side machines on the trip. Motorcycles will be provided for Saturday night’s winners, Junior A/B (25+) competitor Kasey Belt from Weston, West Virginia and 4-Stroke A Lites rider Conner Keegan from Coal Center, Pennsylvania.

The top-10 overall ATV riders were recognized on Friday night.
The top-10 overall ATV riders were recognized on Friday night. Ken Hill

Several thousand dollars’ worth of contingency awards were distributed to the top five finishers in each class and additional door prizes were raffled off to racers throughout the evening. GNCC series sponsors stepped up to distribute the biggest contingency prizes in history, thanks to AMSOIL, Maxxis, Rocky Mountain ATV/MC, Parts Unlimited, FMF Racing, CST Tires, VP Racing Fuels, Dunlop, Wiseco, HDB MotoGrafx, All Balls Racing, Hot Cams, Hot Rods, Cylinder Works, Pivot Works, Tire Blocks, Factory Connection, Cometic, Hinson Clutches, Twin Air, Moto Master Brake System, Fox, Moto Tees, 100% Goggles, Evans Coolant, Alco Cleaners and FPS Racing.

Immediately following the awards portion of the ceremony, musical entertainment was provided by DJ ELO, as GNCC Racers and their families continued the celebration on the dance floor. GNCC also provided a free photo booth from 5:30 p.m. - Midnight to capture the evening’s festivities.

For those racers unable to attend the GNCC Banquet, awards can be obtained by filling out the GNCC shipping form HERE. Racers will be responsible for the cost of shipping and handling prior to shipping the award, and request can be made until December 31, 2017.

The 2018 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series will kick off with the Big Buck GNCC in Union, South Carolina the weekend of February 24 and 25. The full 2018 schedule will be released within the next month.

After breaking the record for all-time wins and securing his fifth title, Kailub Russell was presented with the 2017 Rider of the Year award.
After breaking the record for all-time wins and securing his fifth title, Kailub Russell was presented with the 2017 Rider of the Year award. Ken Hill

For more information on the GNCC series, visit the official website at or call (304) 284-0084. Join the conversation on the series Facebook page, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, and be sure to always hashtag #GNCC. 

About GNCC Racing 

The AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series is America's premier off-road racing series. Founded in 1975, the 13-round championship is produced exclusively by Racer Productions. Cross-country racing is one of the most physically demanding sports in the world. The grueling three-hour GNCC races lead as many as 2,400 riders through tracks ranging in length from eight to 12 miles. With varied terrain, including hills, woods, mud, dirt, rocks and motocross sections, GNCC events are tests of both survival and speed. The series draws talent from all over the U.S., Central America, South America, Europe, Japan, Australia and New Zealand. GNCC Racing is televised weekly on NBC Sports and For more information, please visit

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world's largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders' interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit Not a member? Join the AMA today: