GNCC Racing

Unadilla ATV Amateur Report

Monday, October 20, 2008 | 12:00 AM

GNCC Reporter Ryan Smith checks in with another ATV Amateur Race Report:

By Ryan Smith

Round Eleven of The Can Am GNCC Series went North to New York and the Can AM Unadilla GNCC. The rain came down lightly in the morning race and caused some sloppy conditions for the first few laps, but then gave way to perfect track conditions.

Bryan Buckhannon took the morning overall on his Can-Am Outlander 800 followed by Factory Yamaha rider and Womens rider Traci Cecco, and another Women's rider, Stefanie Verkade. Kristen Atwell rounded out the top three in the womens class. Buckhannon took the win in 4x4 Open followed by Scott Kilby on his Can Am in second place and Jim Stack was back and aboard his Honda to take third in the 4x4 Open class. The U2 Class saw Rob Smith take his first win of the season on his Big Nutz Racing/After Midnight Racing backed ride, followed by Sam Williams in the second place spot and Mike Benson rounded out the top three on his Four-Stroke Tech backed machine.

In 4x4 Lites Jerime Dudding broke through for his second consecutive win aboard his LTE Can Am machine, Cliff Beasley took second on his Factory Can Am and Ken Robey took home third place on his Factory Kymco ride. Michael Swift took his Tenth win of the season on his Factory Can Am ahead of Anthony Voight who took home second and Mike Penland took home third.

Cory Blinkiewicz was the highest amateur on his Big Nutz/Northridge Yamaha backed machine taking the win in 20+C and 15th overall. David Burton followed in 2nd on his Moto Experts ride and Tyler Sederlund took home third place in 20+C. Nick Plisko took the win in 16-19 C on his Big Nutz/North Ridge Yamaha moving him into the points lead in his class. Justin Kirchhoff put on a battle with Nick but ended up getting passed on the last lap and had to settle for second. Kolton Burd took home 3rd place. Garon Davis put on a heck of a ride to take the win in 24+ C ahead of Chris Barnes and Luke Decesare. Gary Parmerter took his 5th win of the season in 30+ C class extending his points lead. Christopher Troccoli was 2nd and Art Blystone was third. Brian Stump pulled out the win in 36+ C ahead of Kenneth Shepherd and Harold Bash. John Gallagher got back to his winning ways on his Polaris and took the win in Super Senior followed by Bernie Kassler in second and Robert Conkle took home third.

The afternoon race saw 230 racers tackle the Unadilla course, many which are not XC1 or XC2 riders. Brad Shankel took home top amateur status with a win on his Instigator Racing machine in the Junior A class and 26th overall. Brad Wilson took home second and Jesse Annunziato took home third. Thomas Koontz took his second win of the year in College A on his Big Nutz Racing/ Elite Performance racing backed ride. Jonathan Fugate took home second place and Dustin Pigott rounded out the top three. New York Racer Brian Schmid took home the Vet A win. Mike Husband took home second and Jeff Miller the third place spot. In Senior A, defending class champion Dave Simmons got injuried at a local race and was unable to attend the Unadilla round. Thomas Wright took home the win in Senior A with Dave's absence. David Bishop took second place and Glenn Hess took home third. James Davidson took top honors in the college b class with a 34th overall. Brandon Matthews followed him home in second and Zac Strong took home 3rd on his GT Thunder Yamaha. New York racer Danny Thompson took the win in Junior B followed by Dirk Decesare who won the Junior B championship for the year and Brandon Symmes rounded out the top three. James Wilson won Vet B followed by Jesse Toigo and James Cobb. The Senior B class was won by Curtis Forrester, Scott Gibson took second place and Barry Taylor took home third. The Can Am GNCC series continues this weekend at the Powerline Park GNCC in St. Clairsville Ohio.