GNCC Racing

Red Bull KTM Bike Team Report: Kanney and Brown Top Ten

Tuesday, October 14, 2008 | 12:00 AM

October 12, 2008

Nate Kanney Earns 5th at St. Clairsville GNCC

St. Clairsville, OH - Red Bull KTM Factory rider Nate Kanney earned 5th overall at the 12th round of the GNCC Series.

Kanney started well with a second place start. His teammate for the day, Red Bull KTM Factory WORCS rider, Mike Brown, joined him up front on the start. Brown took the lead on the first lap but a couple of mistakes on lap two dropped him back to second. On lap three, Brown suffered a technical issue that required an extended pit stop. The time lost dropped him outside the top ten.

Meanwhile, Kanney was still up front in the top three. Unfortunately, a bad stomach ache caused him to drop off the pace. Despite his stomach cramps he was still able to finish a respectable 5th place. Brown returned from his pit stop and fought his way back up to 9th by the finish. Current 2008 XC-1 GNCC Champion, David Knight, was not in attendance as he is currently in the United Kingdom for the Weston Beach Race. He will return for the final round.

In the XC-2 class, Justin Williamson started within the top ten and stayed with that group throughout the race. He lost about one minute of time when he stalled his bike mid-way into the race. Nevertheless, he was able to finish 6th when the checkered flag appeared.

Overall Results XC-1 Class:
1) Paul Whibley
2) Joshua Strang
3) Charlie Mullins
4) Jimmy Jarrett
5) Nate Kanney - KTM
6) Barry Hawk
7) Jesse Robinson
8) Jason Raines
9) Mike Brown - KTM
10) Doug Blackwell

Overall Results XC-2 Class:
1) Scott Watkins
2) Jason Thomas
3) Cory Buttrick - KTM
4) Jake Korn - KTM
5) Ryan Echols
6) Justin Williamson - KTM
7) Kailub Russell - KTM
8) Brian Lawson
9) Scott Decosta
10) Andrew Matusek

Overall Points XC-1 Class:
1) David Knight - 282
2) Joshua Strang - 238
3) Paul Whibley - 235
4) Nate Kanney - 198
5) Charles Mullins - 183

Overall Points XC-2 Class:
1) Thaddeus Duvall - 289
2) Dustin Gibson - 219
3) Kailub Russell - 195
4) Scott Watkins - 158
5) Justin Williamson - 157

Next Event: Crawfordsville, IN - Round 13 October 26, 2008