GNCC Racing

12th Annual KTM Youth Day Returns to John Penton GNCC

Tuesday, May 24, 2016 | 1:45 PM

KTM North America, Inc. is pleased to announce details for its 12th Annual KTM Youth Day, a special celebration focusing on the future of off-road racing, held this Sunday, May 28 at the historic John Penton GNCC in Millfield, Ohio.

Serving as Round 7 of the Grand National Cross Country (GNCC) Series, the John Penton GNCC embraces KTM history as the event is named after the man who originally imported the KTM motorcycle from Austria into the United States. As a salute to Mr. John Penton, KTM will once again offer a special weekend of activities centered on youth racing.

Every Youth motorcycle racer who enters the John Penton GNCC will receive a commemorative Youth Day t-shirt featuring Charlie Mullins. Youth racers will receive a ticket at GNCC Registration in which they can redeem for a free t-shirt at the KTM semi.

All riders and race fans are encouraged to stop by the FMF KTM Factory Racing semi in the pro pits to visit the riders and check out their race bikes. The legendary John Penton and his son Jack Penton will be on hand throughout the weekend to talk with race fans and cheer on the KTM riders.

Recently retired FMF KTM Factory Racing Team member Charlie Mullins will be on-site to encourage Youth motorcycle racers throughout the 8 a.m. Youth race before joining his teammates Kailub Russell and Kacy Martinez at the finish line area to award each Youth motorcycle racer with a finisher medallion upon completion of their race. The FMF KTM Factory Racing racers will be present during the podium celebration and each Youth racer that lands on the podium will get a photo taken with the factory riders.

Additionally, current National Enduro Series points leader and FMF KTM Factory racer Russell Bobbitt will also be on hand, as he will join the remainder of the 2016 GNCC Series full-time beginning at Round 7.

Youth racing begins at 8 a.m., followed by the WXC Class at 10 a.m. and the XC1 Pro Class will take off at 1 p.m. from Millfield, Ohio.