GNCC Racing

FIM International Six Days Enduro Trophy and Junior Trophy Teams Announced

Monday, May 2, 2016 | 9:05 AM

The seven riders selected to represent the United States on two teams in the 2016 FIM International Six Days Enduro were announced today by the American Motorcyclist Association.

The riders will compete as the U.S. Trophy and Junior Trophy teams in the ISDE scheduled for Oct. 11-16 in Circuito de Navarra, Spain. Thirty-five countries are represented at the ISDE event each year.

"We continue to have an impressive team of athletes representing the United States year after year, and I'm confident that this year's team will show that American racers are extremely competitive not only in their country, but globally," said AMA Racing Director Bill Cumbow. "Each competitor has displayed physical and mental skill and strength, determination and endurance and has earned the opportunity to race for the United States at this prestigious event."

Historically, the Trophy Team consisted of six riders, and the Junior Trophy Team had four riders. Starting in 2016, the Trophy Team will have four riders and the Junior Trophy Team will have three.

"The new rule made selection much more difficult this season," ISDE Team Manager Antti Kallonen said. "It took a lot of time to select the riders for each team, but we are confident in our decision and feel each of these riders will do a great job representing the USA."

The 2016 U.S. ISDE Trophy Team includes: FMF KTM Factory Team riders Kailub Russell and Taylor Robert, KR4 Husqvarna Racing Team rider Thad DuVall, and last year's ISDE overall winner Coastal Husqvarna Racing Team rider Ryan Sipes.

Russell will race the E1 class aboard the KTM 250 XC-F. Robert and Sipes will each race the E2 class aboard 350cc motorcycles while DuVall will race the TE 300 in the E3 class.

"I think this new rule change will make the competition closer," Kallonen said. "Our U.S. Trophy Team is solid. Ryan won the overall at the ISDE last year, and Kailub was on top of the ranks until an injury sidelined him. With Taylor racing the full Enduro World Championship Series this season, it should give him an added edge to be familiar with the format and bike setup. Thad will be a strong competitor to complete our team as they fight for the first-ever overall win for the U.S. team."

The 2016 U.S. Junior Trophy Team includes: SRT KTM rider Steward Baylor; AmPro Yamaha Racing Team rider Grant Baylor; and JCR Honda Racing Team rider Trevor Bollinger.

Brothers Steward and Grant Baylor will compete in the E2 class, while Bollinger will compete in the E1 division.

"Our three riders made up the 2014 winning team in Argentina, which makes our expectations high," Kallonen said. "Trevor has shown phenomenal speed this year at the GNCCs and has emerged as the fastest XC2 Pro Lites rider. Steward and Grant Baylor both sit in a top position in the AMA National Enduro Series and are very experienced with ISDE racing."

The teams are scheduled to meet in July for a training camp in Arizona.

In addition, the third-annual ISDE golf tournament fundraiser will be June 24 in Snowshoe, W.Va., with all proceeds funding the Trophy Team riders. For more details on this event, click here.

Visit the official event website at and > Racing > International Competition > ISDE for more information.