GNCC Racing

KTM Ironman Press Release: Kanney Wins!

Monday, October 27, 2008 | 12:00 AM

October 27, 2008

Kanney Takes Ironman GNCC Final

Crawfordsville, IN - Red Bull KTM Factory rider Nate Kanney won his first race of the season at the Ironman GNCC Finale over the weekend.

Nathan Kanney.

Kanney had a great start rounding the first turn in fifth. Within the first three miles he had easily worked his way into the lead. “It was easier passing for the lead than I expected because the top five guys kept my line open each time I started closing in on them,” commented Kanney. Once Kanney took over the lead, he pulled away and never looked back.

“I was really happy with my ride today. The track conditions were perfect and I only had one run in with a lapper that set me back a few seconds. All in all, it was a great day and I am happy to reward the team with a win at the final round of the season,” stated Kanney.

Kanney will now head to Japan where he will compete in a round of the Japanese cross-country series for the first time in his career. “I have competed overseas quite a few times, but this will be my first visit to Japan. I am excited to see what the course conditions and competition will be,” remarked Kanney. After Japan, Kanney will return to the states and compete in the EnduroCross Finale.

Justin Williamson.

Red Bull KTM XC-2 rider Justin Williamson did not have as great of a day as Kanney. His race started out well as he was riding inside the top ten until the half way point. It was at this time, that some water got into his motor through a creek crossing and he was forced to DNF the race. Despite his DNF, Williamson still finished 5th in overall series points.

Overall Results XC-1 Class-
1)Nate Kanney - KTM
2)Charles Mullins
3)Thaddeus Duvall
4)Barry Hawk
5)Paul Whibley
6)Glenn Kearney
7)Jesse Robinson
8)Valtteri Salonen
9)Adam Bonneur
10)Louwrens Mahoney - KTM

Overall Results XC-2 Class-
1)Kailub Russell - KTM
2)Cory Buttrick - KTM
3)Jason Thomas
4)Andrew Matusek
5)Scott Watkins
6)Jake Korn - KTM
7)Johnny Barber - KTM
8)Ryan Echols
9)David Snyder
10)Andy Shea - KTM

Overall Series Points XC-1 Class-
1)David Knight - 286
2)Paul Whibley - 267
3)Joshua Strang - 247
4)Nate Kanney - 242
5)Charles Mullins - 221

Overall Series Points XC-2 Class-
1)Thaddeus Duvall - 289
2)Dustin Gibson - 232
3)Kailub Russell - 230
4)Scott Watkins - 174
5)Justin Williamson - 162