GNCC Racing

McGill, Ockerman, Atwell at the Big Buck

Saturday, April 12, 2008 | 12:00 AM

McGill Wins Again at Pirelli Big Buck GNCC

Union, SC (April 12, 2008) -- FRE KTM's Adam McGill is threatening to run away with the 2008 Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series. The West Union, West Virginia rider mounted a come-from-behind charge at the Pirelli Big Buck GNCC in South Carolina to collect his third-straight GNCC victory.

Rain came down hard early in the day but parted just in time to provide great racing conditions for the two-hour afternoon race. McGill started poorly but made up ground quickly.

"I had to put the pedal to the metal and the balls to the walls to get this win today," said McGill on the podium. "I got a terrible start and I knew I was going to be in for a long day."

McGill won the previous two GNCCs by grabbing the ITP Holeshot and checking out. This time he needed to make up time after a bad start, but he did just that and won by about 30 seconds over Team Excell Motorsports' Bryan Cook. Cook, who rides and trains in North Carolina and races local series on weekends off from the GNCC tour, thrilled the Carolina faithful with his second podium run of the season.

XC1 rookie Brandon Sommers continued his impressive season on his GT Thunder Yamaha by taking third. Rockstar/Yoshimura Suzuki's Chris Borich was fourth and defending GNCC Champion Bill Ballance was fifth on the factory Yamaha YFZ450.

Don Ockerman nailed the XC2 Pro Am victory on his GT Thunder Yamaha, with Brian Wolf and Tyler Lenig rounding out the top three.

Tom Clark Motorsports' Angel Atwell rebounded for her second overall win of the season in the morning race. Yamaha's Traci Cecco took second with Lexie Coulter third.

Pirelli Big Buck GNCC
April 12, 2008
Union, SC
P.M. Race Overall

1. Adam McGill (KTM)
2. Bryan Cook (Hon)
3. Brandon Sommers (Yam)
4. Chris Borich (Suz)
5. Bill Ballance (Yam)
6. Matt Smiley (Hon)
7. Ryan Lane (Hon)
8. Donald Ockerman (Yam)
9. Brian Wolfe (Hon)
10. William Yokley (Hon)
11. Chris Jenks (Can)
12. Tyler Lenig (Hon)
13. David Crane (Yam)
14. Johhny Gallagher (Yam)
15. Shawn Hess (Hon)
16. Josh Kirkland (Hon)
17. Sean Neidlinger (Hon)
18. Craig Reed (Hon)
19. Gabe Phillips (Hon)
20. Matt Pierce (Yam)