GNCC Racing

Ballance Wins at Power Line Park

Saturday, October 11, 2008 | 12:00 AM

For Immediate Release

Contact: [email protected]

Bill Ballance Dominates ITP Power Line Park GNCC, Clinches Ninth Title
Ockerman, Borich, second and third

ST. CLAIRSVILLE, OHIO (October 11, 2008) -- Bill Ballance dominated Saturday's ITP Power Line GNCC at Power Line Park and, in the process, he clinched his ninth GNCC ATV Championship.. The Smiths Grove, Kentucky resident took the lead early in the two-hour event and was never headed en route to the checkered flag. The event was the penultimate round of the 13-race Can-Am Grand National Cross Country series (GNCC).

“I got a good start, was able to get into the lead and ride away,” said Ballance, who sustained rib injuries earlier in the season. “I’m just now healed up from my injuries and it felt good to just ride without pain. My crew and all the fans were telling me where I was and I just tried to ride smooth and have fun.”Â

Ballance’s race was largely uneventful as he assumed the early lead and quickly established a large gap between himself and newly crowned XC2 champion Don Ockerman, who was competing in his first ever XC1 race and surprised everyone, including himself.

“I never even dreamed about racing in the Pro class when I got into this sport,” said Ockerman. “Now, I’m up here on the podium and I can’t believe it. I got a great start and was leading it for a while. I just went for it. Then, I made a mistake and Bill got by me so I tried to settle in and stay up there.”Â

While Ballance and Ockerman put their Yamahas out front the best racing of the afternoon took place between Suzuki’s Chris Borich and KTM’s Adam McGill. McGill had trouble early, but charged through the pack to challenge Borich throughout the last lap. The two were wheel to wheel at the checkered flag with Borich getting the nod for the final podium spot.

“I had a decent start and just started picking guys off one at a time,” said Borich. “I was pretty comfortable in third until I crashed on the last lap. My goggles were dirty, I hit a big mud hole and went down. When I got up I saw McGill coming and knew I had to get going again quick.”Â

Meanwhile, the day belonged to Ballance. His ninth title is his fourth consecutive, which further cements his status as the all-time king of GNCC ATV racing. Ballance held his daughter and his shiny new 2008 Can Am GNCC No. 1 plate very proudly on the podium.

GT Thunder Yamaha’s Brandon Sommers took the ITP Holeshot Award for the second week in a row in the XC1 Class and raced to an 11th-place finish.

In the XC2 Pro-Am Class, Honda mounted Mark Notman took the Rekluse Holeshot Award, and rode well to a runner-up finish.

Yamaha’s Traci Cecco earned the Morning Race Overall Victory, and also won the Women’s class over Angel Atwell and Lexie Coulter. Cecco was racing without rear brakes for most of the race. Both Cecco and Atwell experienced crashes on their way to the win and runner-up finishes.

Josh Merritt won the Youth ATV Race ahead of Jerry Welch and Mathew Harris.

Racing continues tomorrow with the motorcycle portion of the event. Full ATV results are posted at


ITP Power Line Park GNCC

St. Clairsville, Ohio

October 11, 2008


1. Bill Ballance, Smiths Grove, KY (Yam)
2. Donald Ockerman, Marshall, IL (Yam)
3. Chris Borich, Sunbury PA (Suz)
4. Adam McGill, West Union, WV (KTM)
5. Ryan Lane, Bicknell, IN (Hon)
6. Chris Bithell, Irwin, PA (Can)
7. Bryan Cook, Casar, NC (Hon)
8. Jarrod McClure, Kaska, PA (Hon)
9. Brandon Ballance, Oakland, KY (Yam)
10. Chris Jenks, Washington, WV (Can)

XC1 Points Standings (After 12 of 13 rounds)

1. Bill Ballance 262

2. Adam McGill 218

3. Chris Borich 212

4. Bryan Cook 209

5. Brandon Sommers 200

6. Taylor Kiser 170

7. William Yokley 160

8. Jarrod McClure 159

9. Ryan Lane 152

10. Matthew Smiley152

XC2 Top Three
1. Joshua J. Kirkland Proctor, WV XC2 Pro Am 027 HON
2. Mark A. Notman Hubbard, OH XC2 Pro Am 024 HON
3. Brian J. Wolf Medina, OH XC2 Pro Am 341 HON

XC2 Point Standings

1. Don Ockerman 278

2. Mark Nottman 199

3. Josh Kirkland 189